Skip to content

Will Samson Paralanguage Vinyl LP 2019

Sold out
Original price £25.99 - Original price £25.99
Original price
£25.99 - £25.99
Current price £25.99
Cat no. WEBB590LP

1. Shimmer (Day Two)
2. Forestry (Day Four)
3. Welcome Oxygen (Day Five)
4. Old Roots (Day One)
5. Find a Little Light (Day Six)
6. O Medo (Day Three)
7. Water Fall Diver (Day Zero)
8. Holy Hollow (Day Seven)

After seven years of consistent touring and new releases, Brussels-based Will Samson steps away from his familiar use of electronics and ambient soundscapes, to present his fourth solo album, Welcome Oxygen. Consisting largely of guitar, voice & violin recorded onto tape - this is his most raw and direct work to date. In Spring 2016, Samson left his native England and relocated to Portugal when an accident resulted in two broken teeth, unexplained blackouts and two days in Lisbon hospital. After a few months, Will booked a flight to return to England. With two weeks left in the city & with the limited equipment at hand (1x nylon string guitar, 1x valve guitar amp, 1x microphone, 1x keyboard, 1x laptop & 3 simple tape machines) he began writing some new music. In an unexpected flood of creativity, a new song was written & recorded during the first day. This came as a great surprise to the typically slow working Samson, who had spent two years working on the previous album, Ground Luminosity. However, by the following night, another new song had appeared...and then again...and again. Seven new songs emerged within a period of just 10 days. Brad Lee, from The Album Leaf contributes Trumpet arrangements to the track, 'Find A Little Light' and additional overdubs were also added by Belgian violinist, Beatrijs De Klerck (a former touring member of A Winged Victory For The Sullen & frequent live member for Will).