Skip to content

Wes Montgomery - Boss Guitar Vinyl LP New 2019

Sold out
Original price £17.99 - Original price £17.99
Original price
£17.99 - £17.99
Current price £17.99
Cat no. 29026
Track Listing

1. Bésame Mucho
2. Dearly Beloved
3. Days Of Wine And Roses
4. The Trick Bag
5. Bésame Mucho [Alt Tk]
6. Canadian Sunset
7. Fried Pies
8. The Breeze And I
9. For Heaven'S Sake
10. The Trick Bag [Alt Tk]

Boss Guitar was one of the last bebop LPs Wes Montgomery recorded before moving into the style that is now referred to as “smooth jazz”. A trio set, the guitarist is backed here by Mel Rhyne on organ and Jimmy Cobb on drums (the latter is best known for his years as a member of the Miles Davis Quintet). Both Wes and Rhyne were Indianapolis natives, and there are 1957-58 recordings from that city featuring the two musicians playing together. They would also record Wes’ 1959 Riverside LP, The Wes Montgomery Trio, together along with drummer Paul Parker. The present album marked their final recorded collaboration. Jimmy Cobb had already recorded the LP Full House with Montgomery on June 25, 1962, and would continue collaborating with the guitarist in 1965-66.
On Boss Guitar, Wes shows his full expressivity on such standards as “For Heaven’s Sake” and “Days of Wine and Roses,” but he also presents a couple of original compositions, consisting of the high octane “The Trick Bag” and his blues “Fried Pies”. The album also includes a medium tempo version of Consuelo Velázquez’s “Bésame Mucho”, a song he would never record again, either live or in the studio. Wes died suddenly and unexpectedly due to a heart attack on June 15, 1968, at the age of 45.