Skip to content


Currently Unavailable
Cat no. IMT2538774.1
Track Listings
Disc: 1
1. Don't Think Twice, It's Alright
2. River Boy
3. The Twelfth Of Never
4. The Race Is On
5. Stepping Stone
6. The Real House Of The Rising Sun
7. Love Denied
8. Rave On
Disc: 2
1. Just To Satisfy You
2. Kisses Sweeter Than Wine
3. Unchained Melody
4. I Don't Believe You
5. Four Strong Winds
6. Big Mamou
7. I'm Coming Home (take 6)
8. Sing The Girls A Song, Bill (take 11)

Waylon Jennings history (almost) begins here! Recorded before Waylon went to Nashville, when he was a top dee-jay and nightclub singer in Phoenix, Arizona. Waylon takes country music in a new direction, introducing folk music, pop music, and rock 'n' roll. Includes the original version of a Waylon classic, Just To Satisfy You. Features a fabulous backing band, including James Burton. Plus five bonus tracks! This fabulously remastered edition of Waylon's first LP includes five songs not on the original album: Love Denied, Buddy Holly's Rave On, Johnny Horton's I'm Coming Home, Link Davis's Cajun hit Big Mamou, and a rare Harlan Howard song, Sing The Girls A Song, Bill. Although A&M became a quasi-major label after signing the Carpenters, Sheryl Crow, the Police, Sting, and others, it was a struggling indie when the partners, Herb Alpert and Jerry Moss, signed Waylon in 1963. Together, Waylon and Herb Alpert forged some singles and abandoned sessions that showed Waylon's eclecticism: old rock 'n' roll songs, new folk songs by Ian & Sylvia and Bob Dylan, some pop standards, and covers of a recent hits by Little Jimmy Dickens and George Jones. And there was one Waylon original, the first-ever version of the classic Just To Satisfy You - later a #1 country hit for Waylon and Willie. After Waylon scored his first hits on RCA, A&M issued some of those early recordings on an album, reissued here with bonus songs.