Skip to content
*Free UK Delivery over £75 or Collect from your nearest Assai Records
*Free UK Delivery over £75 or Collect from your nearest Assai Records

Texas Soul 64 Vinyl LP Compilation 2016

Sold out
Original price £20.99 - Original price £20.99
Original price
£20.99 - £20.99
Current price £20.99
Cat no. HOS3LP
1. You Waited Too Long (Bobby Williams)
2. Let It Be Me (Brother And Sisters Of Soul)
3. It Makes You Want To Cry (Buddy Ace)
4. Party Time (Mr. Lee & Cherokees)
5. My Life (The C & C Boys)
6. My Mother-In-Law Is In My Hair (Ernie K-Doe)
7. I'm So Glad (Don Fletcher)
8. Come Let Me Love You (Jackie Verdell)
9. Chains Around My Heart (James Davis)
10. The Best Part Of Me (Miss La-Vell)
11. It's All Over Now (The C & C Boys)
12. A Change (The Mustangs)
13. Hey Girl (Reuben & The Chains)
14. The Rest Of My Life (Oscar Perry)

The key area for post war R & B and soul in Texas was Houston of course, and the king of black music there was its height was a multi-million dollar enterprise covering record labels, clubs, a booking agency and a huge publishing empire. He was well known for a robust management style, using both legal and other means to enforce his will in an unforgiving world, and although many people got on his wrong side at the time, his legacy of gospel, blues and soul music is almost unparalleled, rich in variety and quality. This LP shines the spotlight on some of the lesser known artists associated with Robey from 1964. None of the tracks included here has ever seen the light of day on vinyl since their 45s were originally issued.