Skip to content

Underworld Drift Series 1 Sampler Vinyl LP 2019

Original price £25.99 - Original price £25.99
Original price
£25.99 - £25.99
Current price £25.99
Cat no. UWR00086


1. Appleshine
2. This Must Be Drum Street
3. Listen To Their No
4. Border Country
5. Mile Bush Pride
6. Schiphol Test
7. Brilliant Yes That Would Be
8. S T A R (Rebel Tech)
9. Imagine A Box
10. Custard Speedtalk

What is 'DRIFT'? It's precisely one year inside the minds of Underworld. It's a journey that began on 1st November 2018 when the group released the track 'Another Silent Way' and set off with no map, no fixed destination and a simple mantra ('Drift is the opposite of 'normal' or 'usual' practice; we'll do this until we're dust.') 'Rick Smith and Karl Hyde's aim was to create and publish music and film episodically for 52 weeks and see where the journey took them. Within a few weeks, the experiment found its own path, prompting the electronic pioneers to react to previous releases and create new works accordingly. Over time, the duo's innate curiosity opened up a unique space in which they could experiment, learn and explore new frontiers together and with others (including Tomato's Simon Taylor, Australian improv-trance band The Necks, techno producer Ø [Phase], Japanese noise band Melt-Banana, economics writer Aditya Chakrabortty and members of Black Country, New Road). During the 52 weeks, five self-contained episodes were released (respectively in November, January, March, May and August) collectively, they formed 'DRIFT Series 1'. This carefully picked single disc sampler guides the listener straight through the centre of the project.