Skip to content

UB40 - A Real Labour Of Love Vinyl LP Orange & Purple Edition New 2018

Sold out
Cat no. 6701893

Track Listing

1. Making Love
2. She Loves Me Now
3. Strive
4. A Place In The Sun
5. Here I Come
6. Moving Away
7. International Herb
8. Hard Times
9. Ebony Eyes
10. Telephone Love
11. Hush Darling
12. Tune In
13. Once Ago
14. In The Rain
15. How Could I Leave
16. Under Me Sleng Teng

For A Real Labour Of Love the band have again chosen a mix of well-known and less well-known reggae songs to cover in true UB40 style. Tracks featured Barrington Levy’s Here I Come, Ken Boothe’s Moving Away, Gregory Isaac’s Hush Darling, Culture’s International Herb and Beres Hammond She Loves Me. Cover art includes a bespoke painting by the respected American painter Mark T Smith. He has incorporated elements from the tracks to create art unique to the band.

As founding members of Britain’s biggest reggae band UB40, singer Ali Campbell, second vocalist Astro and keyboardist Mickey Virtue topped the UK singles chart on three occasions and sold 70 million records as they took their smooth yet rootsy musical blend to all corners of the globe. Now with ‘A Real Labour Of Love’ the trio give us a fresh take on the legendary series of albums, putting the focus primarily on reggae tracks from the 1980s, a decade that saw dancehall reggae enter the mainstream.

“The first three albums featured the songs we grew up listening to,” says Ali. “This one is built around the records we were listening to once UB40 were on the road.”

LP1 is a Halloween Orange while LP2 is a Grimace Purple. 180 gram vinyl and includes download codes.