Skip to content
Assai Gift Vouchers - E-vouchers for use online or instore - emailed to your inbox!
Assai Gift Vouchers - E-vouchers for use online or instore - emailed to your inbox!


Currently Unavailable
Cat no. BLP4104
Track Listings
1. And Let Me Drift Away
2. I Fall, She Screams
3. Oil Seed Rape
4. Violence
5. Threadbare
6. The Perfect Needle
7. There Is No Floor
8. Anticipating Nowhere
9. Please, Before You Go
10. Suffercation
11. Silent Water
12. Suicide
13. Sadness Pale
14. S.H.C. Burn
15. You Can Not Be Sure

Genre : Noise/Space rock. Reissue of the classic debut album by this legendary UK noise/space rock band. "Taste" was originally released in 1989 on What Goes On and reached #5 on the UK Indie Chart. Only The CD version includes The Perfect Needle EP as bonus (reached #9 on the UK Indie Chart). Dream pop cult icons the Telescopes formed in Burton-on-Trent, England, in 1986 -- singer/guitarist Stephen Lawrie, guitarist/singer Jo Doran, lead guitarist David Fitzgerald, bassist Robert Brookes, and drummer Dominic Dillon comprised the original lineup, which in 1988 issued its first single, Forever Close Your Eyes, a split flexidisc with Loop issued on Cheree in honor of the two groups' joint New Year's Eve performance. The Telescopes' official debut single, Kick the Wall, followed a year later, its feedback-laden trance-rock earning the band critical comparison to the Jesus and Mary Chain and Spacemen 3 -- 7th # Disaster appeared in the spring, and in the summer of 1989 the group issued its breakthrough effort, The Perfect Needle, its debut for the American indie label What Goes On. The Telescopes' debut LP, Taste, closed out the year.