Skip to content
*Free UK Delivery over £75 or Collect from your nearest Assai Records
*Free UK Delivery over £75 or Collect from your nearest Assai Records


Sold out
Original price £16.99 - Original price £16.99
Original price
£16.99 - £16.99
Current price £16.99
Cat no. AMPLALP036
Track Listings
1. Where Did She Go
2. Sri Sai Flora
3. Wake Up
4. Lemming Circle Dance
5. In The Ashram
6. Rosalie's Garden
7. Downtrace
8. Light Tunnel
9. See The Way
10. I Don't Know

The garages of East Nashville are now American rock's hottest property says the Guardian March 2012, and the Sufis are amongst the cream of the crop of the new psych/garage influenced Tennessee scene. The Sufis are an incredible baroque psych group led by local sound pioneer and aural investigator, Calvin Laporte. Their album was so instant, that we knew instantly we had to put it out on Ample Play. It's incredibly adventurous & memorable. They record using old analogue recording equipment and effects, some of which they have rebuilt from scratch. The musicianship on the record is stunning. We also love the fact that the only show they played that we're aware of prior to recording the album was to a packed room of friends where they set themselves up in the middle of a large room and arranged their speaker/amps in all four corners and had the audience in a circle around them in between, as part gig, part happening and part experiment. This is a group with ideas, with psychedelic ideas.