We are open for mailorder - Free DD1-DD5 & DD7 Local delivery over £40. UK Delivery free over £50
The Steel Woods Old News Vinyl LP New 2019

The Steel Woods Old News Vinyl LP New 2019

Regular price £23.99 Offer Price

Track Listing

1. All of These Years 2. Without You 3. Changes 4. Wherever You Are 5. Blind Lover 6. Compared to a Soul 7. Old News 8. Anna Lee 9. Red River (The Fall of Jimmy Sutherland) 10. The Catfish Song 11. Rock That Says My Name 12. One of These Days 13. Are the Good Times Really Over (I Wish a Buck Was Still Silver) 14. Whipping Post 15. Southern Accents

The Steel Woods' sophomore Thirty Tigers album, Old News, represents a creative leap for the southern roots rock songwriting team of Alabama native Wes Bayliss and his North Carolina partner Jason "Rowdy" Cope, who completed their first recordings barely months after they first met. Recorded in Asheville, NC at Echo Mountain Studios, the site of an old church during a six-day break in a hectic touring schedule, the new album (the follow-up to 2017's critically acclaimed Straw in the Wind) features more original songs and, for the first time, the whole band participated - including the rhythm section of bassist Johnny Stanton and drummer Jay Tooke - playing in a single room, cutting the tracks virtually live.Part Lynyrd Skynyrd, Allman Brothers, dual-guitar southern blues-rock with elements of R&B, country, bluegrass, gospel, blues, folk and metal, the descriptively named, Nashville-based band deepens its resolve on a theme-driven album that joins the mystery train of the past with the full-speed loco-motion of the present, seeking to bring people together with the universality of music. Conceptually and musically, Old News delivers a set of songs at once eternal with lyrics wrenched from today's headlines, featuring mythic reverberations and social critiques to boot. The album mourns an idealized past but isn't afraid to point the way to a better future that enlists the best of both worlds.