Skip to content

The Ska From Jamaica Vinyl LP RSD Aug 2020

Sold out
Cat no. 4050538557183

Track Listing

A1    –Jackie Estick    The Ska    
A2    –The Maytals    Let’s Jump    
A3    –Winston Samuels    What Have I Done    
A4    –Clancy Eccles    Sammy No Dead    
A5    –Horrell Dawkins    Cling To Me    
A6    –The Carribbeats*    Bells Of St. Mary’s (Ska)    
B1    –Derrick Harriott    Monkey Ska    
B2    –Winston Samuels    Time Will Tell    
B3    –Roy Shirley    Paradise    
B4    –Ben Levy (2)    Doreen    
B5    –Glen & Lloyd*    Too Late    
B6    –Lloyd Brevett    Wayward Ska

Originally scheduled for release in 1966, 'The Ska (From Jamaica)' album remained lost for well over half a century before the ¼" master tape was finally discovered in the Trojan archives in 2019.Comprising a dozen top-quality tracks, the collection features numerous musical talents now widely regarded as Jamaican legends, their number including the Maytals, Ken Boothe, Clancy Eccles and Derrick Harriott.The album comes presented in a stylish designed sleeve and includes an annotated insert, relating the story behind the discovery of the long-lost tape and the essential ska music featured therein.