Skip to content

Chuck Berry - Very Good! - 20 Greatest Rock & Roll Hits! Vinyl LP New 2019

Sold out
Original price £15.99 - Original price £15.99
Original price
£15.99 - £15.99
Current price £15.99
Cat no. 772269
Track Listing

1. Maybellene [aka Maybelline]
2. Roll Over Beethoven
3. Johnny B. Goode
4. Oh, Baby Doll
5. 'Round and 'Round
6. Come On
7. Almost Grown
8. Reelin' and Rockin'
9. School Days
10. Carol
11. Rock and Roll Music
12. Sweet Little Sixteen
13. Too Much Monkey Business
14. Thirty Days (To Come Back Home)
15. Brown Eyed Handsome Man
16. Go-Go-Go
17. Run Rudolph Run
18. Memphis, Tennessee
19. Back in the U.S.A.
20. Route 66

This essential LP edition compiles 20 of Chuck Berry's most emblematic and celebrated songs, taped by the Chess label between 1955 and 1961. These recordings helped define the exact nature of early rock & roll. All-time classics such as Berry's car songs ("Maybellene"), his calculated and carefully crafted instant smashes for the 1950s teenage market ("Reelin' and Rockin'," "Sweet Little Sixteen," "School Days"), and his celebrations of the music itself ("Rock and Roll Music," "Johnny B. Goode," "Roll Over Beethoven"), are some of the greatest rock tunes ever written. Take "Johnny B. Goode" specifically – the intro alone is arguably one of the most iconic pieces of music ever recorded, and the subsequent hand in hand energy of both the vocal and the instrumentation not only forms a brilliantly hook throughout the track, but also creates something uniquely Chuck Berry. This material will convince even the sceptics of Berry's brilliance. All of these original gems, which have been brilliantly remastered to achieve the most pristine sound, are simple two-and-a-half-minute songs that convey all the sheer power and emotion of rock & roll. Enjoy!