Skip to content

The Amorphous Androgynous - We Persuade Ourselves We Are Immortal Vinyl LP 2020

Cat no. LPTOT79
Track Listing:1. We Persuade Ourselves We Are Immortal
2. Hymortality
3. The Immortality Break
4. Synthony On A Theme Of Mortality
5. Psych Recap
6. Physically I'm Here, Mentally Far, Far Away

The Amorphous Androgynous return with symphonic 40-minute progtronic space rock concept single 'We Persuade Ourselves We Are Immortal' in 5 epic parts, featuring the legendary Peter Hammill (the Van Der Graaf Generator) on vocals, alongside a host of musicians including Paul Weller (piano and guitar), Ray Fenwick (Spencer Davis Group / Ian Gillan Band) (lead guitar), Brian Hopper (Caravan / Soft Machine) (saxophone) and many others, including the 50-piece Chesterfield Philharmonic Choir and a 25-piece sumptuously recorded live orchestral string section.

Opening with the 13-minute epic space prog rock of title track 'We Persuade Ourselves We Are Immortal', the themes of mortality and immortality are then musically and conceptually catapulted to the far flung corners of the AA sonic multiverse over 40+ minutes utilizing choir, moog, a live orchestral string section, harp and vintage synth all fed against a backdrop of classic rock and psych samplerdelia of the Amorphous Androgynous. Space Odyssey like dystopian choirs and moog of 'Hymortality' crash full force into the Led Zeppelin Bonham- like drums of 'the Immortality Break', while 'Synthony On A Theme of Mortality' lives up to its name as an almost Vangelis Bladerunner-esque vintage synthony of some of the themes of the original track utilizing the classic 70s Yamaha CS80 synth, before triumphantly soaring to lift off adrift a Pink Floyd-like female wailing aria against classic vintage guitar rock.