Skip to content


Currently Unavailable
Cat no. BLUNB002088601.1
Track Listings
1. Rising Son
2. Afro Blues
3. Piri Piri
4. Mala
5. Everybody Loves the Sunshine
6. Green and Gold
7. Sometime, Somewhere, Somehow
8. Call

2014 vinyl LP pressing of trumpeter & composer Takuya Kuroda's Blue Note debut. "No one sounds like Takuya," says producer Jose James. "His tone, warmth and most of all his storytelling have inspired me for years. His writing is soulful, modern, and effortlessly bridges the gap between jazz and soul, and between history and tomorrow." Afrobeat rhythms play a crucial role throughout Rising Son, reflective of Kuroda's six-year participation in the New York-based Afrobeat ensemble, Akoya. Afrobeat's entrancing shuffle propels several of the album's tracks including the tantalizing "Afro Blues," one of the album's six original tunes on which Kuroda's spiky trumpet melody with urban swagger evokes Lee Morgan, one of Kuroda's significant influences along with Clifford Brown and Miles Davis. The album also features two Roy Ayers' gems - "Everybody Loves the Sunshine" & "Green & Gold."