Skip to content

Soul Jazz Records Presents Studio One Rockers Vinyl LP RSD Aug 2020

Cat no. SJRLP451

Track Listing:

A1    Sound Dimension    Real Rock
A2    Marcia Griffiths    Feel Like Jumping    3:32
A3    Freddie McGregor    Bobby Bobylon
A4    Horace Andy    Skylarking
B1    Lennie Hibbert    Village Soul
B2    Brentford All-Stars*    Greedy G
B3    Johnny Osbourne    Truth And Rights
B4    Ernest Ranglin    Surfin
C1    Michigan & Smiley    Eye Of Danger
C2    Dawn Penn    No, No, No
C3    The Skatalites    Phoenix City
D1    Prince Jazzbo    Crabwalking
D2    Jackie Mittoo    Hot Milk
D3    Lone Ranger    Badder Dan Dem    3:51
D4    Cedric "Im" Brooks    Ethiopia    3:42

Soul Jazz Records are releasing this 20th anniversary edition of their classic Studio One Rockers on Record Store Day coloured vinyl w/ download code. This new edition is a one-off pressing exclusively for Record Store Day. Owned and founded by Clement "Coxsone" Dodd, Studio One's output serves as a comprehensive guide to the history of reggae music.
The music on Studio One Rockers covers all areas of Reggae such as Ska, Rocksteady, Roots and Dancehall, all areas in which Studio One led the field and has become the essential introduction to reggae fans throughout the world.Included in this compilation are classic Ska tracks ("Phoenix City"), Rocksteady ("Feel Like Jumping"), Roots music ("Truth and Rights"), Dancehall (Freddy McGregor, Michigan and Smiley) and many more. Featured here are many of the classic tracks from Studio One.From Dawn Penn's legendary "No, No, No" to classics such as Horace Andy's "Skylarking" and Marcia Griffith's "Feel Like Jumping".