Skip to content

Soul Double Vinyl LP 2020

Sold out
Original price £20.99 - Original price £20.99
Original price
£20.99 - £20.99
Current price £20.99
Cat no. 5389874
Track Listing:

Disc 1:
1. Easy - Commodores
2. You Make Me Feel Brand New - The Stylistics
3. With You I'm Born Again (Feat. Syreeta Wright) - Billy Preston
4. When Will I See You Again - The Three Degrees
5. Me and Mrs. Jones - Billy Paul
6. My Cherie Amour - Stevie Wonder
7. Free - Deniece Williams
8. Lovin' You - Minnie Riperton
9. Street Life - The Crusaders
10. Ain't No Mountain High Enough - Diana Ross
11. Lovely Day - Bill Withers
12. One Day in Your Life - Michael Jackson
13. Being With You - Smokey Robinson
14. Reunited - Peaches & Herb
15. Theme from Deep (Down, Deep Inside) - Donna Summer

Disc 2:
1. What's Going On - Marvin Gaye
2. It's a Man's Man's Man's World - James Brown
3. Feeling Good - Nina Simone
4. Proud Mary - Ike & Tina Turner
5. Son of a Preacher Man - Dusty Springfield
6. Best Thing That Ever Happened to Me - Gladys Knight & The Pips
7. Float On - The Floaters
8. You're the First, the Last, My Everything - Barry White
9. September - Earth, Wind & Fire
10. The Night - Frankie Valli and the Four Seasons
11. Theme from 'Shaft' - Isaac Hayes
12. Papa Was a Rollin' Stone - The Temptations
13. Family Affair - Sly & The Family Stone
14. Harvest for the World - The Isley Brothers
15. Show You the Way to Go - The Jacksons
16. Don't Leave Me This Way - Harold Melvin & The Blue Notes

Soul brings together 31 tracks from the biggest names in soul music music’s deep history. It includes classic tracks from both the Motown and Philadelphia International labels, alongside a host of the hottest soul/funk/disco anthems of all time.

The Motown label is represented by true legends Stevie Wonder, Diana Ross, Marvin Gaye, The Temptations, Smokey Robinson, Michael Jackson and The Commodores. The label also produced Billy Preston and Syreeta’s stunning duet ‘With You I’m Born Again and The Four Seasons’ Northern Soul classic The Night.

The Philadelphia International label was also a powerhouse in the ’70’s producing huge hits included here for The Three Degrees, Billy Paul, The Jacksons and Harold Melvin & The Blue-Notes.

As the line between soul and disco blurred in the late ’70’s, dance-floors filled to cuts included here from Earth, Wind & Fire, The Crusaders ft. Randy Crawford, Barry White and the queen of disco Donna Summer. Soul became funkier with Isaac Hayes’ Shaft, Sly & The Family Stone’s ‘Family Affair’ and Ike & Tina Turner’s ‘Proud Mary.

Exclusively on 2LP vinyl, Soul also brings you some of the most beautiful love songs ever recorded from The Stylistics, Deniece Williams, Minnie Riperton, Bill Withers, Peaches & Herb, Gladys Knight & The Pips, The Floaters and The Isley Brothers as well as the aforementioned artists including Stevie Wonder, Smokey Robinson, Michael Jackson and The Commodores.

Although this compilation takes the majority of its tracks from the 1970’s we had to include 3 incredible songs and artists from the 1960s - James Brown’s It’s A Man’s Man’s Man’s World, Nina Simone’s ‘Feeling Good’ and the incomparable voice of Dusty Springfield on ’Son Of A Preacher Man.

Soul is an essential addition to any well-loved record collection.