Skip to content


Cat no. TPKS5043.1
Track Listings
1. John Brown's Dream
2. Wild Goose Chase
3. The Girl I Left Behind Me
4. Connaughtman's Rambles/Devil's Dream/Marche Venerie
5. Drowsy Maggie
6. Pretty Polly
7. Turkey In The Straw
8. The Black Hussars
9. Fisher's Hornpipe
10. Apple Tune
11. Forked Deer
12. Cacklin' Hen
13. Flowers Of Edinburgh
14. Cherokee Shuffle
15. Flop Eared Mule
16. Lark In The Morn
17. The Minotaur

George 'Smoke' Dawson played banjo in MacGrundy's Old-Timey Wool Thumpers with Peter Stampfel (later of Holy Modal Rounders) in 1960, lived for years at Caffe Lena in Saratoga Springs, NY, and roamed around the US as an itinerant bagpipe and fiddle player for decades. His life is laced with small triumphs, and lots of tragedy. Tompkins Square reissues his only album, a remarkable 1971 private press LP. 750 copies were initially pressed.
Excerpted notes by reissue producer / Tompkins Square label owner Josh Rosenthal :
I was doing some research for a box set of music recorded at Cafe Lena, the hallowed folk music venue located in Saratoga Springs, NY, when I came upon a photograph of a musician I didn't recognize. He looked like a sixth member of The Band - a handsome fiddler with wax moustache, goatee, black Western hat. There was a traditional air to him, a seriousness, but there was also something wild there. I needed to know who he was, and everything about him. The producers told me his name was Smoke Dawson, and they had tape on him. We listened, and his live version of 'Devil's Dream'; made it onto the box set. Then I started digging. I found a 1996 blog post from someone named Oliver Seeler, who claimed to have recorded a solo album by Dawson in 1971. I called the number on the site, not expecting much from an 18 year old blog post. But he picked up. He gave me background on the record. And, he gave me Smoke Dawson's phone number . . .