Skip to content

Sir Adrian - Boult Holst The Planets Vinyl LP New 2020

Cat no. 0190295253745
Track Listing

1) Mars, the Bringer of War
2) Venus, the Bringer of Peace
3) Mercury, the Winged Messenger
4) Jupiter, the Bringer of Jollity
5) Saturn, the Bringer of Old Age
6) Uranus, the Magician
7) Neptune, the Mystic

Holst's Planets is a hi-fi test piece par excellence. The music explores every nuance and dynamic of which a modern symphony orchestra is capable. When reproduced at a realistic volume level with full frequency range, the music has a stunning emotional impact - at times savage - at other times beguiling. The piece has been recorded many times since its 1918 debut under Sir Boult's baton but its colours never glowed more brilliantly than in this performance.