Skip to content

Shame - Drunk Tank Pink Vinyl LP Opaque Pink Colour 2021

Save £7.00
Original price £21.99
Current price £14.99
Cat no. DOC204LP-C1

Opaque Pink Colour Vinyl

Track Listing

1. Alphabet
2. Nigel Hitter
3. Born in Luton
4. March Day
5. Water in the Well
6. Snow Day
7. Human
8. Great Dog
9. 6/1
10. Harsh Degrees
11. Station Wagon

There are moments on Drunk Tank Pink where you almost have  to  reach  for  the  sleeve  to  check  this  is  the  same  band  who  made  2018’s  Songs  Of  Praise.  Such  is  the  jump  Shame  have  made  from  the  riotous  post-punk  of  their  debut  to  the  sprawling  adventurism  and  twitching  anxieties  laid  out  here.  The  South  Londoner’s  blood  and  guts  spirit,  that  wink  and  grin  of  devious  charm,  is  still  present,  it’s  just  that  it’s  grown  into something bigger, something deeper, more ambitious and unflinchingly honest.     The genius of Drunk Tank Pink is how these lyrical themes dovetail with the music. Opener Alphabet dissects the premise of performance over a siren call of nervous, jerking guitars, its chorus thrown out like a beer bottle across a mosh pit. Songs spin off and lurch into unexpected directions throughout here,  be  it  March  Day’s  escalating  aural  panic  attack  or  the  shapeshifting darkness of Snow Day. There’s a Berlin era Bowie beauty to the lovelorn Human For A Minute while closer Station Wagon  weaves  from  a  downbeat  mooch  into  a  souring,  soul-lifting climax in which Steen elevates himself beyond thecloudsand into the heavens. Or at least that’s what it sounds like. From the womb to the clouds (sort of ), Shame are currently very much in the pink.