Skip to content
Assai Gift Vouchers - E-vouchers for use online or instore - emailed to your inbox!
Assai Gift Vouchers - E-vouchers for use online or instore - emailed to your inbox!


Currently Unavailable
Cat no. TCRVS06
Track Listings
Disc: 1
1. Sputnik [Radio Edit]
2. Korolev
3. Sputnik [Petar Dundov Remix]
4. Sputnik [Eagles & Butterflies Remix]
5. Sputnik [Blond:Ish Remix]

Double A-side 'Sputnik / Korolev' is the fourth release from the critically-acclaimed 'The Race For Space'. The EP includes a brand new track 'Korolev' whilst Sputnik (the most dancefloor friendly track on the album) has been remixed by some leading lights in the dance and electronic world, namely Blond:ish, Petar Dundov, Eagles & Butterflies & Plugger. Korolev, or The Chief Designer as he was referred to at the time, was the talismanic figure spearheading the Russian Space program and the lead designer of Sputnik. His untimely death in 1966 had a huge impact on the outcome of the Soviet battle with the United States to be the first nation to land a man on the Moon. Sputnik embarks on a new path with Peter Dundov's relentless beat and tightly executed electronic twists whilst echoed words add a dark touch to Eagles & Butterflies' house-inspired electro flourishes. Canadians Blond:ish take us on a 12-minute voyage through an unpredictable range of textures, adding a spark to the soft, dazzling beat and creating a sense of nostalgia in the process. Plugger complete the EP, ramping up the intensity of Sputnik as it journeys into an exhilarating groove. UK Tour - 17th Nov Queens Hall, Edinburgh, 18th University Refectory, Leeds 19th 02 Academy, Liverpool, 20th Rock City, Nottingham, 21st OPEN, Norwich, 26th Great Hall, Cardiff, 27th 02 Guildhall, Southampton, 29th 02 Academy Brixton, London.