Skip to content
Assai Gift Vouchers - E-vouchers for use online or instore - emailed to your inbox!
Assai Gift Vouchers - E-vouchers for use online or instore - emailed to your inbox!


Currently Unavailable
Cat no. FIRR362.1
Track Listings
1. Navvy
2. On the Surface
3. Dub Housing
4. Caligari's Mirror
5. Thriller!
6. I Will Wait
7. Drinking Wine Spodyody
8. Ubu Dance Party
9. Blow Daddy-o
10. Codex

'Dub Housing appears harsh, impenetrable and repellent... it seems to be working on some hidden internal logic, from some parallel (and disquieting) universe. On subsequent listens, the 'logic,' if indeed the tapping of the subconscious and intuition can be called 'logic,' becomes clearer; the album remains baffling, infuriating, haunting, menacing and ferociously funny...' Jon Savage, Melody Maker / 'A voyage into unchartered space. Unfathomable, inscrutable, unmissable' Uncut / Pere Ubu reissue their second album 'Dub Housing' on Fire Records. Originally released in 1978, the same year as their debut 'The Modern Dance', Pere Ubu continue to tear up the rule book, chew it up and spit it out with glorious splendour. Mesmerising critics, fans and musicians along the way, their follow up has been repeatedly regarded as one of their best and captures Pere Ubu in one of their earliest incarnations. Dub Housing's assaultive noises and melodic rock still annihilates the senses setting Pere Ubu apart from their peers with vision and an inimitable ability to push boundaries. For this reworking, Paul Hamann at Suma has transferred from the original 2-track analogue mix tapes to digital at the highest resolution available, which is at least four times the resolution of the original. The tracks have carefully been re-mastered by sonic architect Brian Pyle so as to capture the unique qualities within. Tracklisting: Navvy, On The Surface, Dub Housing, Caligari's Mirror, Thriller!, I Will Wait, Drinking Wine Spodyody, Ubu Dance Party, Blow Daddy-o, Codex.