Skip to content

Onipa - We No Be Machine Vinyl LP 2020

Sold out
Original price £16.99 - Original price £16.99
Original price
£16.99 - £16.99
Current price £16.99
Cat no. STRUT217LP
Track Listing:

1. We No Be Machine
2. Mr Ali
3. Yenimno
4. Material Microdots
5. Hey No I Say
6. Digital Timeline
7. Fire
8. Makoma
9. Smoke Screen
10. Nipa Bi
11. Free Up
12. Safari Ya Muziki
13. Gamashie Choice
14. Sohaa Gb3k3
15. Waters of Congo
16. Onipa
17. Kukuru
18. Kon Kon Sa
19. Promised Land

Afro grooves, electronics and fierce energy. Afro futurist sensations Onipa unleash their debut album, combining Afro grooves, electronics and fierce energy for an effervescent celebration of cultural and musical encounters. ONIPA means ‘human’ in Akan, the ancient language of the Ashanti people of Ghana. It’s a message of connection through collaboration: from Ghana to London, our ancestors to our children, Onipa brings energy, groove, electronics, Afro-futurism, dance and fire! Born out of deep collaboration between long-time friends K.O.G (Kweku of Ghana of KOG and the Zongo Brigade) and Tom Excell (MD, guitarist and writer of acclaimed jazz/ soul afrobeat pioneers Nubiyan Twist), the group features KOG on vocals, balafon and percussion, Tom Excell on guitar, percussion and electronics, Dwayne Kilvington (Wonky Logic) on synths and MPC and Finn Booth (Nubiyan Twist) on drums. The group have worked closely with Ghanaian star Wiyaala who features on three tracks, singing in the Sisaala language from the North of Ghana. The album also features collaborations with South African rapper Spoek Mathambo, Lesotho star Morena Leraba, Ghanaian percussion master Afla Sackey and Tanzanian sisters Pendo & Leah Zawose, each adding their own flavour to the project.