Skip to content

Odyssey The Sound Of Ivor Raymonde Vol. 2 Vinyl LP 2019

Sold out
Original price £34.99 - Original price £34.99
Original price
£34.99 - £34.99
Current price £34.99
Cat no. BELLA977V

1. Dusty Springfield: Little By Little
2. Alan Price Set Simon: Smith And The Amazing Dancing Bear
3. Los Bravos: Brand New Baby
4. The Eyes Of Blue: Don’t Ask Me To Mend Your Broken Heart
5. The Chants: Wearing A Smile
6. Susan Maughan: That Other Place
7. Kathy Kirby: The Way Of Love
8. Cat Stevens: Blackness Of The Night
9. Paul Slade: Odyssey
10. Frankie Vaughan: Tower Of Strength
11. The Martells: Time To Say Goodnight
12. The Cryin’ Shames: Please Stay
13. Roy Orbison: Pretty Paper
14. The Outlaws: Swingin’ Low
15. Ronnie Carroll Chain Gang
16. Del Shannon: From Me To You
17. The Chucks: Loo-Be-Loo
18. Olé Jose & The Golden Leaves: Tequila 68
19. The Rogues: Memories Of Missy
20. Marty Wilde And His Wildcats: Endless Sleep
21. Giles, Giles & Fripp: Thursday Morning
22. Twinkle: Michael Hannah
23. Christopher Colt: Girl In The Mirror
24. The Stylistics: I Feel Lucky Tonight
25. The Walker Brothers: Where's The Girl

"Odyssey: The Sound Of Ivor Raymonde Volume Two" is Bella Union’s follow-up to the critically acclaimed "Paradise: The Sound Of Ivor Raymonde". The new compilation is a further celebration of the great British arranger, musical director, producer and songwriter Ivor Raymonde, who died at age 63 in 1990. Bella Union, the label behind both releases, is run by Ivor’s son Simon Raymonde.
Like Paradise , Odyssey has been compiled by Simon with author, journalist and music historian Kieron Tyler. Simon explains that: “The research Kieron and I did for Paradise showed us that there was still an extremely rich seam of his music to be uncovered. A follow-up volume was increasingly inevitable”.

Odyssey is additional confirmation of the seemingly limitless scope of Ivor’s talents. More hits are featured: the Alan Price Set’s irresistible Top Five interpretation of Randy Newman’s “Simon Smith And The Amazing Dancing Bear”, Dusty Springfield’s kinetic “Little By Little”, Frankie Vaughan’s epic chart topper “Tower Of Strength” and the aural drama of Marty Wilde And His Wildcats’ “Endless Sleep”. There are also lesser-known tracks by best-sellers: Los
Bravos’ Raymonde-composed soul stomper “Brand New Baby”, Cat Stevens’ moody “Blackness Of The Night” and the extraordinary 1966 Walker Brothers’ album track “Where's The Girl”, which pointed to where the solo Scott Walker would soon be heading.