Skip to content
*Free UK Delivery over £75 or Collect from your nearest Assai Records
*Free UK Delivery over £75 or Collect from your nearest Assai Records

Night Beats - Who Sold My Generation Vinyl LP 2016

Original price £19.99 - Original price £19.99
Original price £19.99
£26.99 - £26.99
Current price £26.99
Cat no. HVNLP123

Track Listing

 1. Celebration #1
  2. Power Child
  3. Right/wrong
  4. No Cops
  5. Porque Manana
  6. Sunday Mourning
  7. Shangri Lah
  8. Burn to Breathe
  9. Bad Love
  10. Last Train to Jordan
  11. Turn the Lights
  12. Egypt Berry

Night Beats play pure psychedelic R&B music that spikes the punch and drowns your third eye in sonic waves of colour. Theirs is a bastard blues, contorted and distorted into new shapes for 21st century wastoids - once tasted never forgotten. This is music to melt your sorry little minds. Recorded on old two-inch tape in Echo Park, Los Angeles at the home of producer Nic Jodoin and featuring co-production and guess bass playing from Robert Levon Been of Black Rebel Motorcycle Club, new album Who Sold My Generation goes beyond merely being a retreading of well-worn garage / R&B path. Instead it offers a contemporary take on the psychedelic experience, a heady set of hoodoo voodoo songs. Mordant and corrosive opener 'Celebration #1' sets the tone with it's wailing guitar jams and Messiah-like monologue, while 'No Cops' makes like the imaginary soundtrack to an orgiastic party somewhere in the LA hills as the summer of love gave way to an era of greed and paranoia. 'Sunday Mourning' is the sound of blood dripping on the twitching remains of a generation's super ego and with a rockabilly strut, 'Egypt Berry' chases the White Rabbit down into a cosmic underworld while shaking it's burning tail feathers.