Skip to content


Currently Unavailable
Cat no. FRIM214501.1
Track Listings
1. Mississippi Queen
2. Theme For An Imaginary Western
3. Never In My Life
4. Silver Paper
5. For Yasgur's Farm
6. To My Friend
7. The Laird
8. Sittin' On A Rainbow
9. Boys In The Band

Mountain s Mississippi Queen is one of the most revered hard rock songs in modern time. Amongst other staples like
Deep Purple s Smoke On The Water and BTO s Takin Care Of Business, the song will forever stand the test of time. That
particular smash hit was the lead off track from their top album chart hit Climbing!
Climbing! also referred to by fans as Mountain Climbing! was released in 1970, went gold immediately and began a very
successful partnership albeit brief for this arena packing quartet. Consisting of guitar shredder/vocalist extraordinaire Leslie
West, the late great Felix Pappalardi on bass, keys and vocals, the explosive Corky Laing on drums and the masterful Steve
Knight on organ/piano, Mountain was the band of choice for many hard rock fans throughout the seventies.
Gaining mass momentum from their appearance at Woodstock in 1969, the band got in the studio and cut this
masterwork with mega producer and Mountain bassist Felix Pappalardi (Cream, Hot Tuna, Jack Bruce), churning out soon
to be smash hits that would be forever played on classic rock stations globally. Since Cream was no longer an entity, the
great Felix Pappalardi s affiliation with this groundbreaking trio surely paid off with his studio skills, production techniques
and knowledge of working with sounds and elements that surely changed the way a lot of us listen to albums these days.
Tracks like Jack Bruce and Pete Brown s Theme For An Imaginary Western and For Yasgur s Farm would show not only
the studio wizardry of the great Felix Pappalardi but also his unique vocal prowess and artillery like bass playing, which today
is emulated by many, and made this album the masterpiece it is.
More burners like Leslie West s delivery on Never In My Life and Sittin On A Rainbow showcase the brilliance of the
man, the guitar and the voice which is equally important whenever discussing the talents of this superstar blues rock master.
Corky Laing and Steve Knight propel the band into realms not heard in years with their never tiring percussive drum
and keyboard interplay. Just check out the hard work driving sounds of Silver Paper and Boys In The Band.
Even an acoustic side of Mountain enhances the masterwork with a pair of exceptional tunes To My Friend and The
Laird, highlighting the acoustic and folk roots of both Leslie West and Felix Pappalardi.
Friday Music is very honored to announce The Mountain/Friday Music 180 Gram Audiophile Series with our first
installment of their first album Climbing! Mastered impeccably by Joe Reagoso at
Friday Music Studios and pressed at R.T.I., this 1970 masterpiece is seeing its first time audiophile vinyl
mastering as well as seeing vinyl PERIOD in almost four decades!
As part of this limited edition release, we are also including the original LP cover gatefold cover graphics, including the
stunning artwork and photography not seen in years and the unique Windfall LP label artwork which was also a part of the
whole package.
Let s start the New Year right with Mountain and their smash album Climbing! A first time 180 Gram Audiophile Vinyl
release. Only from your friends at Friday Music... Next Up... Nantucket Sleighride.
Mississippi Queen... You Know What I Mean!