Skip to content

Morrissey - I Am Not A Dog On A Chain Ltd Ed Red Vinyl LP 2020

Sold out
Original price £21.99 - Original price £21.99
Original price
£21.99 - £21.99
Current price £21.99
Cat no. 4050538589412

Track Listing:

1. Jim Jim Falls
2. Love Is on Its Way Out
3. Bobby, Don't You Think They Know?
4. I Am Not a Dog on a Chain
5. What Kind of People Live in These Houses?
6. Knockabout World
7. Darling, I Hug a Pillow
8. Once I Saw the River Clean
9. The Truth About Ruth
10. The Secret of Music
11. My Hurling Days Are Done

It's 2020 and Morrissey is fighting back after a tumultuous period following the release of 'Low in High School' in 2017.

Long-standing fans can breathe a sigh of relief; Morrissey eschews outspoken politics and muscular instrumentation on 'I Am Not a Dog on a Chain', kicks the soapbox to one side and explores his faded youth and working-class upbringing; Morrissey contemplates suicide on 'Jim Jim Falls', fame and drug use in lead single 'Bobby, Don't You Think They Know?', and indeed, the end of his career in 'My Hurling Days are Done'.

Make no bones about it, it's an astounding record, in which Morrissey confounds his critics and contends with his own flaws. Such a release suggests not a swansong, but a rebirth. Smithsy, with a tinge of New Order in places, it's a welcome return, and something of an reserved apology to his audience.