Skip to content

Malia - The Garden Of Eve Vinyl LP 2020

Sold out
Cat no. 0214360MS1
Track Listing:

1. Hope
2. Last Show
3. The Thrill Is Gone
4. Me & My Girlfriend
5. Two Seedlings
6. Lord, I Feel So Bad
7. Restoration
8. Death
9. Freedom At Last
10. Moving Away
11. Honeymoon Is Over

After releasing spine-tinglingly striking single "Hope" just before Christmas, Malawi-born, London-based jazz singer Malia welcomes the new decade with 'The Garden of Eve', an album dedicated to the blues and its stories. It has been a long time since a contemporary artist has made such a beautiful homage to the blues, a style that in the year 2020 deserves to have a bit of its dust brushed off.

"Blues has always been dear to my heart: it's a cathartic experience, precious and profound, whether it's playing it or listen to it on the radio. When I first heard Billie Holiday sing 'Blue Moon', I could feel it with every cell of my body. She had such a powerful effect on me. Sentimental blues, originating from tragic situations, sometimes even reflecting my own experiences... No matter how bad family, friends, politics, lovers, governments or society might be, they can never destroy the forces for good in this world. And as time passes by, I more and more find the truth that is rooted in my soul. And I finally feel mature enough to understand this wonderful musical tradition - because blues means life."

And if blues means life, Malia is the energy that allows the blues to have a soul, a voice. Characterised by her unique timbre - that doesn't need any further explaining - Malia gives us a thrill throughout the 12 tracks of this album, that has everything to become a classic.