Skip to content


Sold out
Cat no. CNWX805.1
Track Listings
1. Ohad Talmor - Daahoud
2. Joe Albany - Angel Eyes
3. Joe Albany - Lush Life
4. Coleman Hawkins - Think Deep
5. Ben Webster & Jack Teagarden - Big Eight Blues
6. Joe Albany - Barbados
7. Ohad Talmor - Free Couples
8. Max Roach - Deeds, Not Words
9. Joe Albany - Lotus Blossom
10. Nezhdanova - Romeo Et Juliette - Gounot - Je Veux Vivre Dans Ce Reve
11. Joe Albany - Everybody Knew But Me
12. Ohad Talmor - A round Around the Night
13. Thelonious Monk - Ruby My Dear
14. Joe Albany - The Nearness Of You
15. Joe Albany / Ohad Talmor - AB Blues / AJ Blues

This soundtrack is not only an aural companion to Low Down the acclaimed biopic of jazz pianist Joe Albany, based on the memoirs of his daughter Amy-Jo Albany but also the perfect primer for Albany s lifework. Comprised of Albany s own compositions alongside those of Coleman Hawkins, Max Roach, Thelonious Monk, and selections from Ohad Talmor s score, this album conjures both a feel for Albany s own avant-garde, quick-tempo, bebop jazz and a mood that evokes the life of Hollywood s notorious jazz hustler. The album meets with the deep approval of Flea, who took the role of executive producer and co-star of the film. This is the music that makes me think that human beings aren t so bad, writes the bassist in the liner notes. This is the sound that gives me the energy to go out into the world and try to shine a light. As a child, this is the music I listened to that blew my mind; it let me know that all things were possible. If human beings were capable of doing this, then anything could happen. This soundtrack is a beautiful homage to Joe Albany s extraordinary talent and life, says Amy-Jo Albany. It takes me back in time and breaks my heart. It reminds me why music is as essential as air. And if my dad s spirit is still out there dancing in the high blue, I know he is as he used to say digging it the most.