Skip to content

Jonathan Hulten - Chants From Another Place Vinyl LP Out 2020

Original price £28.99 - Original price £28.99
Original price
£28.99 - £28.99
Current price £28.99
Cat no. KSCOPE1052
Track Listing

1. A Dance in the Road
2. The Mountain
3. Next Big Day
4. The Call to Adventure
5. Wasteland
6. Outskirts
7. Holy Woods
8. Where Devils Weep
9. The Fleeting World
10. Ostbjorka Brudlat
11. The Roses
12. Deep Night

The musical inspiration for singer/songwriter JONATHAN HULTÉN's debut album Chants From Another Place is drawn from a capella folk and church choir compositions. Throughout the album, tales are weaved and musical influences collide as HULTÉN draws comparisons to artists including Nick Drake, Sufjan Stevens and Fleet Foxes, as well as traditional folk artists Bert Jansch & John Martyn right through to his contemporaries in Anna Ternheim, Chelsea Wolfe & Hexvessel.

HULTÉN has created a deeply reflective and personal world that he invites listeners to explore. Recorded solely by HULTÉN in his studio in Stockholm, Sweden, the twelve compositions that make up Chants From Another Place were mixed by Ola Ersfjord from Cuervo Recording Service in Madrid, Spain.

The album's debut single due for release in January, 'The Mountain' is a potent yet minimalistic ode to loss and hope, accompanied by a video produced and animated by HULTÉN himself, and takes influence from Tolkien, Tove Jansson and art nouveau illustrator Aubrey Beardsley. The cover art is a self-penned portrait, reflecting the melancholy found within the songs on the album and an insight into HULTÉN's unique persona.

HULTÉN says that: "Chants From Another Place will thematically take you through landscapes of ecstasy, passing mountains of death and rebirth, sailing seas of adventure, traversing wastelands of despair and forests of myth. It is an inward journey and only time can tell which places will be visited under its duration. It is a tale of spiritual death and rebirth.

The Chants From Another Place LP release will be presented as a single 180g black vinyl LP with both outer and inner bag on reverse board with an 8 page art booklet printed on offset paper.