Skip to content
Our Edinburgh Shop is currently undergoing a refurbishment! Due back open 16th March 2024
Our Edinburgh Shop is currently undergoing a refurbishment!

Johnny Cash Out Among The Stars Vinyl LP 2014

Sold out
Original price £32.99 - Original price £32.99
Original price
£32.99 - £32.99
Current price £32.99
Cat no. 88883712831


1. Out Among the Stars
2. Baby Ride Easy - Johnny Cash with June Carter Cash
3. She Used to Love Me a Lot
4. After All
5. I'm Movin' On - Johnny Cash with Waylon Jennings
6. If I Told You Who It Was - Minnie Pearl
7. Call Your Mother
8. I Drove Her Out of My Mind
9. Tennessee
10. Rock and Roll Shoes
11. Don't You Think It's Come Our Time - Johnny Cash with June Carter Cash
12. I Came to Believe
13. Bonus Track

Sony Music is proud to announce the release of Out Among The Stars, a remarkable new album comprised of 12 recently discovered Johnny Cash studio recordings.

The tracks on Out Among The Stars were originally recorded in Nashville, Tennessee at Columbia Studios in 1981 and 1111 Sound Studios in 1984 and produced by Billy Sherrill, the architect of the �countrypolitan� sound who was heading A&R at CBS Records Nashville at the time.

On these songs-which include duets with June Carter Cash and Waylon Jennings-Johnny worked with an ex- panded ensemble featuring a young Marty Stuart on guitar and mandolin and Nashville A-Team members Jerry Kennedy (guitar), Pete Drake (steel guitar), Hargus �Pig� Robbins (piano) and Henry Strzelecki (bass).

The recordings, which have never been released in any form, are not demos, outtakes or alternate versions. They remained in the vaults during the years Columbia Records released Johnny Cash�s last albums for the label and were subsequently forgotten.

The result, Out Among The Stars, is a great lost Johnny Cash album connecting the revolutionary rockabilly of his Sun Records years to the epochal fi nal albums he made for American Recordings