Skip to content

Janis Ian Night Rains Vinyl LP 2018

Cat no. 88985449011


A1 The Other Side Of The Sun 3:58

A2 Fly Too High 5:07

A3 Memories 4:45

A4 Night Rains 3:22

A5 Here Comes The Night 3:35

B1 Day By Day 4:15

B2 Have Mercy Love 4:39

B3 Lay Low 3:04

B4 Photographs 2:45

B5 Jenny (Iowa Sunrise) 3:31

Released in 1979, the self-produced Night Rains was the first album to give Janis Ian platinum records outside of the US, notably Australia, Europe, the UK, South Africa, Scandinavia, and the Mideast. At Janis' request, Giorgio Moroder co-wrote and produced the first single, ‘Fly Too High’, which became a major hit and appeared as the title song to the Jodie Foster/Adrian Lyne film Foxes. The follow-up, 'The Other Side of the Sun', likewise garnered International attention, cementing Ian's place as a world-renowned artist and writer.

The album features world-class musicians, including Ron Carter (bass), Richie Havens (percussion), and Ian herself on a piano/vocal duet with Chick Corea.

The 2018 reissue has been overseen by Janis Ian and Steve Berkowitz, having been remastered from original tapes at Battery Studios, New York, and is released on heavyweight vinyl, complete with a free full album download. It also includes all lyrics, liner notes, and credits from the original release