Skip to content
Assai Gift Vouchers - E-vouchers for use online or instore - emailed to your inbox!
Assai Gift Vouchers - E-vouchers for use online or instore - emailed to your inbox!


Currently Unavailable
Cat no. DAV090
Track Listings
1. Downtown
2. The Weight
3. Intoxicated
4. I'm Gonna Keep On Dancing
5. Cappuccino
6. The Believer
7. River Cruise
8. Ocean Song
9. Feel Sleep Aliens
10. Working Man's Blues

In the second half of 2013, following years of near-constant touring as the front-man of the critically acclaimed BC outfit Yukon Blonde, Jeffrey Innes suddenly found himself in possession of an unfamiliar commodity: free time. With Yukon Blonde on a temporary break between albums, Innes was back at home in Vancouver, but rather than spending his downtime relaxing, he launched the solo project High Ends as an adventurous new songwriting outlet.

The resulting ten-song album, Super Class (October 7, 2014) combines the upbeat pop-rock catchiness that Innes is known for with esoteric synth textures. It was recorded with producer Colin Stewart (Dan Mangan, the New Pornographers) at his Vancouver Island facility. During the sessions, Gold & Youth drummer Jeff Mitchelmore handled percussion, meticulously interweaving vintage drum machine programming with live playing. Louise Burns and New Pornographers member Kathryn Calder contributed backing vocals, while Ladyhawk's Darcy Hancock laid down guitar.

The desire to make music purely for fun without rules is the driving force behind High Ends. With another busy year ahead of him, a prospective tour underway and his new wildly inventive solo project under his belt, it is clear that for Jeff Innes, 'free time' doesn't exist.