Skip to content

Gregory Pepper & His Problems - I Know Now Why You Cry Vinyl LP 2020

Sold out
Original price £26.99 - Original price £26.99
Original price
£26.99 - £26.99
Current price £26.99
Cat no. LPFFINC079
Track Listing:

1. Good Call
2. I’ve Got a Bottle
3. Sublime Sun Tattoo
4. Worrier Spirit
5. Maybe I’ll See You
6. I’m Dying
7. Unsolved Mystery
8. Bogus Journey
9. Art Collector - Bored Of The View
10. Who Doesn’t Know
11. Before The Rust It Was Heaven
12. Diaper Hill
13. Bigger Than Jesus
14. Father’s Day - Coda

Southern Ontario's elder statesman of self-deprecating basement pop returns with his 6th full length album, I Know Now Why You Cry. Singer-songwriter and multi-instrumentalist Gregory Pepper has never been one to stay in one place for too long, having explored twee indie-folk, fuzzy nerd-rock, and buoyant electro-pop in recent outings. Here, the tone is more organic and self-assured than ever, buttressed by an abundance of baroque arrangements and ornate production. The subject matter is even more forthright: In 2017, the ultra-prolific Pepper set out to write, record, and release a new song for an entire year through a Patreon subscription campaign. He made good on his promise and delivered 52 songs while suffering the loss of his father and welcoming the birth of his daughter within the same calendar year. In 2019, Pepper re-recorded a meticulously curated revision of the most compelling bits from the 'Song Of The Week' experiment. This 35-minute LP begins by diving headlong into fear and vulnerability only to find triumphant redemption on the flip side. All the while, Pepper's knack for ear worm melodies and acerbic humour are manifested in full force. It's quite literally a matter of Life and Death.