Skip to content
Our Edinburgh Shop is currently undergoing a refurbishment! Due back open 16th March 2024
Our Edinburgh Shop is currently undergoing a refurbishment!

Enrico Rava - New York Days Vinyl LP 2009

Sold out
Original price £30.99 - Original price £30.99
Original price
£30.99 - £30.99
Current price £30.99
Cat no. ECMB002187601.1


  1. Lulu
  2. Improvisation I
  3. Outsider
  4. Certi angoli segreti
  5. Interiors
  6. Thank you, come again
  7. Count dracula
  8. Luna urbana
  9. Improvisation II
  10. Lady orlando
  11. Blancasnow

Italian trumpeter Enrico Rava leads a magical European/American collaboration, recorded in the jazz capital of the world in February 2008. 180g vinyl edition. Since returning to ECM in 2003 with the acclaimed album Easy Living, trumpeter Enrico Rava has gone from strength to strength, both as a player and in terms of international recognition. His new album features highly inventive Italian pianist (and Rava protégé) Stefano Bollani and three leading American jazzmen: master drummer Paul Motian, bassist Larry Grenadier and, in his ECM debut, saxophonist Mark Turner. Rava's soulful trumpet is strongly contrasted with the lean, analytical playing of Mark Turner. Bollani's playful harmonic imagination shapes bridges between them. Larry Grenadier is "present and focused in every moment" as Rava says, and Paul Motian is as idiosyncratically creative as ever. The CD is both a transatlantic project and a kind of 'home-coming' - Rava found his musical direction while living in New York in the late 60s/early 70s. Since then an increasingly 'Italian' lyricism has also made itself felt in his playing. Personnel: Enrico Rava (trumpet), Mark Turner (tenor saxophone), Stefano Bollani (piano), Larry Grenadier (double-bass), Paul Motian (drums).