Skip to content

Delta 5 - Singles & Sessions 1979 - 1981 Vinyl LP New 2019

Sold out
Original price £25.99 - Original price £25.99
Original price
£25.99 - £25.99
Current price £25.99
Cat no. LPKRS415
Track Listing

Side A
1. Mind Your Own Business
2. Now That You've Gone
3. Anticipation
4. You
5. Try
6. Colour
7. Delta 5
8. Make Up

Side B
1. Triangle
2. Innocenti
3. Train Song
4. Final Scene
5. Singing the Praises
6. Shadow
7. Circuit
8. Journey

‘Singles & Sessions 1979-1981’ is a must have for 80s post punk fans’ from Delta 5. Delta 5 were the epitome of post punk, they were a two bass guitar driven, 3 girl/2 boy outfit who managed to break all the Trad Rock rules and create a brave new pop that was beloved of the John Peel listeners of the time but strangely sounds like an almost mainstream pop these days as the rest of the world finally catches up.

The original members of Delta 5 - the highly influential, yet short lived early 80s post punk band - Julz Sale (vocals/guitar), Ros Allen (bass) and Bethan Peters (bass), formed the band “on a lark” in 1979, but soon became a part of the thriving Leeds post-punk scene, and later added Kelvin Knight on drums and Alan Riggs on guitar.

Part of the Leeds/UK art/music scene in the late '70s that launched The Gang Of Four and The Mekons, Delta 5 was signed to Rough Trade after only a few months in existence, the band combining feminist politics with a two-bass funk-punk sound (much in the style of another more famous Leeds band, Gang of Four) released in 1979 their debut single, “Mind Your Own Business”.

BBC host and producer John Peel requested the band do a "Sessions" gig for him and they were officially on their way. Relentless touring with The Gang Of Four, Echo And The Bunnymen, B52s, The Specials, The Teardrop Explodes, and U2 put the group on the map. They continued until various members departed in 1981, when they recorded one last single and broke up in 1982. This release contains long unavailable material as well as the never before released Peel Sessions. Kill Rock Stars. 2006. Comes with a poster!