Skip to content
Assai Gift Vouchers - E-vouchers for use online or instore - emailed to your inbox!
Assai Gift Vouchers - E-vouchers for use online or instore - emailed to your inbox!

De La Soul 3 Feet High and Rising 7" Vinyl Boxset Black Friday 2023

Currently Unavailable
Cat no. RMM3231

A limited edition release for Black Friday 2023.


1. Intro
2. The Magic Number
3. Change In Speak
4. Cool Breeze On The Rock (The Melted Version)
4. Can U Keep A Secret
5. Jenifa Taught Me (Derwin's Revenge)
6. Ghetto Thang
7. Transmitting Live From Mars
8. Eye Know (Feat. Ottis Reading)
9. Take It Off
10. A Little Bit Of Soap
11. Tread Water
12. Potholes In My Lawn
13. Say No Go
14. Do As De La Does
15. Plug Tunin' (Last Chance To Comprehend)
16. De La Orgee
17. Buddy (With Jungle Brothers And Q- Tip From A Tribe Called Quest)
18. Description
19. Me Myself And I
20. This Is A Recording 4 Living In A Fulltime Era (L.I.F.E)
21. I Can Do Anything (Delacratic)
22. D.A.I.S.Y. Age
23. What's More (From Ost Hell On 1st Ave)
24. Jenifa (Taught Me) [derwin's Revenge] {12 Mix}
25. Buddy (Native Tongue Decision Part 1)
26. Buddy (Native Tongue Decision Part 2)

3 Feet High and Rising is the debut studio album by hip hop trio De La Soul and was released on March 3, 1989 It marked the first of three full-length collaborations with producer Prince Paul, which would become the critical and commercial peak of both parties.It contains the singles, "Me Myself and I", "The Magic Number," "Buddy," and "Eye Know".

The album title came from the Johnny Cash song "Five Feet High and Rising". It is listed on Rolling Stone's 200 Essential Rock Records and The Source's 100 Best Rap Albums. When Village Voice held its annual Pazz & Jop Critics Poll for 1989, 3 Feet High and Rising was ranked #1. It was also listed on the Rolling Stone's The 500 Greatest Albums of All Time.

Released amid the 1989 boom in gangsta rap, which gravitated towards hardcore, confrontational, violent lyrics, De La Soul's uniquely positive style made them an oddity beginning with the first single, "Me, Myself and I." Their positivity meant many observers labeled them a "hippie" group, based on their declaration of the "D.A.I.S.Y. Age" (Da. Inner. Soul. Yall).

Sampling artists as diverse as Hall & Oates, Steely Dan and The Turtles, 3 Feet High and Rising is often viewed as the stylistic beginning of 1990s alternative hip hop (and especially jazz rap). 3 Feet High & Rising was chosen by the Library of Congress to be added to the National Recording Registry for its cultural significance and general excellence.

Includes 7" pinup and a double sided 7" slip-mat

*Restricted to 1 copy per customer/household. All multiple orders will be cancelled without notice.