Skip to content

David Porter - Victim Of The Joke?...An Opera Vinyl LP New 2019

Original price £26.99 - Original price £26.99
Original price
£26.99 - £26.99
Current price £26.99
Cat no. CR00198
Track Listing

1. If I Give It Up, I Want It Back
2. When You Have To Sneak
3. Help
4. (I'm Afraid) The Masquerade Is Over
5. Storm In The Summertime
6. Pretty Inside
7. Human
8. Airplane Ticket, Bus Ride, Can I Borrow Your Car?

The 1971 concept album, 'Victim of the Joke?...An Opera' is the third solo LP from the acclaimed producer, songwriter, and singer David Porter. Listed as one of the "100 Greatest Songwriters of All Time" by Rolling Stone, Porter established his career at Stax, working alongside writing partner Isaac Hayes.

Together, the pair wrote over 200 songs, including Sam & Dave's "Soul Man" and "Hold On, I'm Comin'" and Carla Thomas' "B-A-B-Y." Much like Hayes, the songwriter also took time to record as a solo artist, and this ambitious LP stands as a testament to his endless creative spirit. 'Victim of the Joke' pairs original pop-infused soul music and covers (including an infectious rendition of the Beatles' "Help!") with interludes of dialogue and sound effects to tell the story of a love affair.

Porter's searing rendition of the standard "(I'm Afraid) The Masquerade Is Over" has been sampled in over 35 songs by artists like The Notorious B.I.G., the Wu-Tang Clan and Mary J. Blige. This is the first-time Victim of the Joke? Is reissued on vinyl.