Skip to content


Track Listings
1. Mustache in Your Face - Pretty
2. One Girl - Fraight
3. Aunt Marie - American Sound Ltd
4. Doin' Me Right - The Classmen
5. Lovin' You'o Blues - Jaded
6. You'll Know the Words - Larry Sands & The Sound Affair
7. I Don't Really Love You - Sheriff
8. I Wish It Hadn't Ended That Way - Tide
9. End of the Page - Bulbous Creation
10. Think Before You Leave - Mulligan
11. Living Today - Stone Wall
12. Little By Little - Morningstar
13. 7 and 7 Is - The Montaris
14. Love's Other Side - Baxter's Chat
15. One Day Girl (Twenty-four) - Burlington Express
16. In My Grave - The Reactions
17. Feelin' Down - 21st Century Sound Movement
18. Any Number Can Win - The Dantes
19. If I Didn't Want to See You Anymore - Larry Sands & The Sound Affair
20. William Jones - Fraight
21. Any Old Time - The Classmen
22. The King Was - Jaded
23. She's a Part of Me - The Dantes
24. Smoke My Pipe (The Sign Ain't Right) - A.J. Rowe

Not quite hell, but close enough. Local Customs: Cavern Sounds covers six years lost in the deranging darkness of Independence, Missouri's Pixley limestone mine, where a team of misfit engineers captured the reverberating echoes of Kansas City's rock 'n' roll blasting cap. Taped in the subterranean studio headspace of Cavern between 1967 and 1973 are previously unissued recordings by Jaded, Larry Sands & the Sound Affair, Sheriff, Mulligan, Stone Wall, Morningstar, the Montaris, and the Dantes, alongside the most explosive tracks released on KC's Pearce, Rock, and Cave labels by the likes of the Reactions, Burlington Express, the Classmen, Fraight, American Sound Ltd, Baxter's Chat, 21st Century Sound Movement, Pretty, Tide, and A.J. Rowe.