Skip to content
Assai Gift Vouchers - E-vouchers for use online or instore - emailed to your inbox!
Assai Gift Vouchers - E-vouchers for use online or instore - emailed to your inbox!

Can You Feel That Beat FUNK Compilation 2LP Vinyl NEW

Currently Unavailable
Cat no. JD2LP

1. Iron Leg - Mickey & The Soul Generation
2. Let Me Come Within - Renaldo Domino
3. Watch the Dog That Brings the Bone - Sandy Gaye
4. Get It Right - The Soul President
5. Everything's Gonna Be Alright - Robert Moore
6. Crumbs from the Table - The Young Disciples & Co.
7. Corruption Is the Thing - Creations Unlimited
8. Money Won't Save You - Boscoe
9. Ghet-to Funk - Duracha
10. Good Things - Pearl Dowell
11. You Made Me Suffer - Andrew Brown
12. The Grade A - Clifton White
13. The Electric Skunk - Black Sunshine
14. Strike - Union
15. The First Thing I Do in the Morning - Joyce Williams
16. Function Underground - We the People
17. Party Time - Black Soul Express
18. The Devastator - Stormy
19. Jungle - Young Senators
20. Gone! The Promises of Yesterday - 24-Carat Black

Funk was the syncopated groove that emerged in the mid-’60s through hits from James Brown and Dyke and The Blazers. It was a natural development out of rhythm and blues. Thousands of local bands tried to emulate Brown’s success, and in the process created a plethora of rare and sought after 45s and album cuts that have been mined by DJs and producers to fill floors or provide breakbeats.

Whilst the 20 tracks on this compilation would cost you thousands of pounds to own on their original issue, that isn’t really the point. Instead you get to listen to magnificent grooves such as Mickey & The Soul Generations explosive Iron Leg, Andrew Brown’s blues tinged You Made Me Suffer or the message music of 24 Carat Black.