Skip to content

Cabaret Voltaire - Methodology Attic Tapes Vinyl LP Boxset New 2019

Sold out
Original price £118.99 - Original price £118.99
Original price
£118.99 - £118.99
Current price £118.99
Cat no. CABS17
Track Listing

A1 Exhaust
A2 Synthi AKS (Piece One)
A3 Synthi AKS (Piece Two)
A4 Jet Passing Over
A5 Sad Synth
A6 Treated Guitar
B1 Treated Clarinet
B2 Treated Drum Machine
B3 Possibility Of A Bum Trip
B4 Space Patrol
B5 Jack Stereo Unit
C1 Magnet
C2 Counter Reaction
C3 Capsules (Version)
D1 Makes Your Mouth Go Funny
D2 Dream Sequence Number Three (Short Version)
D3 Reverse (Piece One)
D4 Stolen From Spectra
E1 Shes Black (Part One)
E2 Jive
E3 The Single
E4 Speed Kills
E5 Fascist Police State
F1 Synthi AKS (Piece Three)
F2 Data Processing Instructions
F3 Fuse Mountain
F4 Calling Moscow
G1 Dream Sequence Number Two (Ethel's Voice)
G2 The Attic Tapes
G3 Treated Speech
H1 Dream Sequence Number Three (Long Version)
H2 Henderson Reversed (Piece Two)
I1 Bed Time Stories
I2 Loves In Vein
I3 Do The Mussolini (Head Kick) (They Kill Him Dub)
I4 Shes Black (Part Two)
J1 It's Not Music
J2 Slo Change
J3 Original Voice Of America
K1 Heaven And Hell
K2 Do The Mussolini (Head Kick)
K3 Here She Comes Now
L1 Capsules
L2 Oh Roger
L3 Havoc
L4 Talkover
M1 No Escape
M2 Photophobia
M3 The Set Up
N1 A Minute Is A Life Time
N2 Baader Meinhof
N3 Nag Nag Nag
N4 It's About Now

"Methodology '74-'78 Attic Tapes" vinyl box set charts the development of Cabaret Voltaire, starting from their early experimental period of '74/'75. Included on the release are the original recordings of classics such as 'Nag Nag Nag', 'No Escape', 'The Set Up', 'Baader Meinhof', 'Here She Comes Now' and 'Do The Mussolini (Headkick)', all later re-recorded with new equipment and released by Rough Trade in the late '70s.

Cabaret Voltaire were at the forefront of the UK Electronic Movement throughout the ‘70s. Initially a three piece, Richard H. Kirk, Stephen Mallinder and Chris Watson began by playing around with recorded sounds manipulated by basic reel-to-reel tape recorders in Sheffield in 1973. Way ahead of their time, these ideas cumulated in 1975, when the three staged their first performance of these sound experiments and assumed the name Cabaret Voltaire, taken from the name of the club started in Zürich by the principals of the Dada art movement during the First World War. As part of the confrontational energy of punk, and inspired by the Dada and Situationist art movements, these early recordings have lost none of their power in the intervening years, especially when the relatively primitive equipment used at that time is considered.

"Methodology '74-'78. Attic Tapes" is an invaluable insight into how the band evolved prior to and during the punk explosion, and how the music gradually took on a more structured and rhythmic form.