Skip to content

Brownbear - What Is Home? Vinyl LP 2018

Cat no. ASSAI002

Release : ASSAI #2


1. Covers

2. Wandering Eyes

3. Truth Without Consequence

4. Olive Tree

5. Wrong Team

6. Stop The World

7. Only For You

8. Funny Old World

9. Living Memories

10. What Is Home?

Brownbear is the musical collective led by Glasgow-based singer/songwriter Matt Hickman. After paying their dues on the local scene and rising to “hotly-tipped” status through support slots with The Libertines and The View, the band enlisted ex-Superstar Joe McAlinden to produce their fantastic debut album “What Is Home?”.

A concise and immaculately-crafted collection, the album’s tracks recall the aforementioned Libs/View axis’ upbeat pop hooks, but delivered with a rootsy acoustic drive, the band tipping their hats to Motown and classic pop along the way. Matt’s vocals have all the natural, easy-going charm of prime Lemonheads or Wilco, lyrically confessional and philosophical in equal measure.

Preceded by digital single “Truth Without Consequence” in March, “What Is Home?” is released on Vinyl LP and CD formats by the Dundee-based Assai Recordings label on April 20th to coincide with Record Store Day 2018.