Skip to content


Sold out
Cat no. NTES13.1
Track Listings
Disc: 1
1. 4
2. Cornish Acid
3. Peak 824545201
4. Fingerbib
5. Carn Marth
6. To Cure A Weakling Child
7. Goon Gumpas
8. Yellow Calx
9. Girl/Boy Song
10. Logan-Rock Witch

Vinyl LP repressing of this 1996 album. In a career full of brilliant, groundbreaking music, the Richard D. James Album remains Aphex Twin s drill n bass masterpiece. It was James s fourth and most widely popular full-length to date upon its original release, and reinvented the artist as a commanding influence on like-minded groups such as Radiohead who were tiring of the guitar / bass / drums format. Moving even further away from his ambient and acid house beginnings, the album matches James s trademark fragile, slow-moving melodies with harsh, quick breakbeats. When it was released, fellow electronic artists such as Orbital and Underworld had just begun to filter moderate amounts of drum n bass in their work, but the Richard D. James Album was more extreme than virtually all jungle at the time. The album continues to gain high marks from music critics, ranking 40th on Pitchfork s Top 100 Albums of the 1990s and 55th on NME s Top 100 Albums of All Time. A peculiar and personal work, the Richard D. James Album is a modern classic which offers the same thrill on the first listen as the hundredth.