Skip to content
Assai Gift Vouchers - E-vouchers for use online or instore - emailed to your inbox!
Assai Gift Vouchers - E-vouchers for use online or instore - emailed to your inbox!

Andrew Wasylyk Balgay Hill Vinyl LP Yellow Colour + Signed Print Due Out 28/02/22

Cat no. PIPE028_02

Please note this is a pre-order item due for release 28th February 2022

Limited Yellow Vinyl Re-Press (alt artwork) & includes exclusive bonus signed artist's print


1. Blossomlessness 03:44
2. Through The Rose Window 02:41
3. Magpie Spring 03:39
4. Sun Caught Cloud Like The Belly Of A Cat 03:20
5. Avril Hydrangeas 04:01
6. Western Necropolis Twilight 01:55
7. The Ghost Who Never Arrived 02:23
8. Observatory In Bloom 03:27
9. Smiling School For Calvinists 01:58
10. The Morning Of Magnolia Light 05:26

As the Spring of discontent took hold on 2020, Scottish composer and producer Andrew Wasylyk sought shelter in the familiar. Low-light morning walks in Dundee’s 19th century Balgay Park acted as sanctuary and solace to events happening in the world outside. Wasylyk’s acclaimed new album, 'Balgay Hill: Morning In Magnolia' presents itself as a collection of recreational meditations embed with blue and golden melodies that land in a territory akin to experimentalists such as Robert Wyatt and Virginia Astley. A transcendental journey through ambient, library and jazz and an invite to untold stories and images that take flight in the listener’s mind.

The ten compositions that make up Balgay Hill: Morning In Magnolia present themselves as hymns to early morning light, the optimism at the start of the day, and the simple joy that can be found close to home exploring an inner-city park. As with last year's Fugitive Light And Themes Of Consolation and Scottish Album Of The Year Award shortlisted The Paralian (2019), trumpet and flugelhorn are handled by fellow Tayside musician Rachel Simpson, who's delivery blends muted swells and punctuated patterns.

Andrew Wasylyk - Gardyne Theatre, Dundee, Friday 4th February 2022.

Doors 7pm

For this unique hometown show at Gardyne Theatre Andrew will be joined on stage by an eight piece ensemble. The performance will also include songs taken from his SAY Award nominated albums, ‘Fugitive Light And Themes Of Consolation’ and ‘The Paralian’, as well as live accompanying visuals from artist Tommy Perman.

Assai Edition LP + ticket bundles limited to 100 tickets only.