Skip to content
Free UK Shipping over £50 - excludes Album + Ticket Bundles
Free UK Shipping over £50 - excludes Album + Ticket Bundles


Currently Unavailable
Cat no. ECC100010

A1 Calling In The Horses
A2 Beware Soul Brother
A3 The Magnificent Seven (ACSS meets TDF)
B1 Cascade
B2 A Higher Love (tune 'Monkswell Road')
B3 Honey Bee
C1 Where Two Rivers Meet
C2 Mansani Cisse / Taladh
C3 Child Of Wonder
D1 Desert Billy (tune 'The Balcony')
D2 The Communicator
D3 The Soul Of A Sister
D4 Kalsi Breakbeat

European and African based, globally-connected collective Afro Celt Sound System have been instrumental in fuelling that far-reaching approach; over 20 years, they've found kindred spirits across international talent, and forged a reputation for exhilarating shows and an accomplished catalogue of albums, dating back to their 1996 debut, Volume 1: Sound Magic. Now ACSS continue their adventures on ECC Records, with their first studio recording for a decade - 'The Source'. As its title suggests, The Source summons the original Afro Celt energy and legacy, while simultaneously yielding fresh inspirations. "There was so much scepticism when we started out", admits Grammy-nominated multi-instrumental founder and producer Simon Emmerson. "We've gone from what was a fairly eccentric concept 20 years ago, to something that everyone understands; I think that's testimony to how resilient the music is. It is the first album to fully celebrate the African and Asian roots brought to the band by long-term members' vocalist, kora and balafon player N'Faly Kouyat and Dhol drummer Johnny Kalsi. Along with founder member Simon Emmerson (producer, guitars, cittern) and new core member Griogair (vocals, piping, guitars) winner of Gaelic Singer of the Year at the 2015 Scots Trad Music Awards.