Skip to content

Soho Scene 57: Jazz Goes Mod RSD 2024

Original price £23.99 - Original price £23.99
Original price
£23.99 - £23.99
Current price £23.99
Cat no. RANDB139LP
This is a Record Store Day 2024 release. Strictly one per customer.


Side One - British Jazz:
1. Kenny Baker's Half Dozen - Act I Scene I
2. Tubby Hayes/Victor Feldman Sextet – Four
3. Derek Smith - Chelsea Bridge
4. Don Rendell Jazz Six - Star Eyes
5. Dave Lee Trio - Salt Air
6. Ronnie Scott Sextet - Pittsburgh Opener.

Side Two - Jazz U.S.A.:
1. Wes Montgomery - Finger Pickin'
2. Carl Perkins Trio - Too Close For Comfort
3. Miles Davis – Générique
4. Lorez Alexandria - Baltimore Oriole
5. Art Pepper - You'd Be So Nice To Come Home To
6. Art Blakey - Cubano Chant.

"Most of our people have never had it so good". When Prime Minister Harold Macmillan uttered his famous era-defining phrase in the summer of 1957 he wasn't thinking of the UK's modern jazz community. Yet his words were an equally apt summary of their fortunes that year. After the bitter defeats of 1956, when America delivered reminder upon reminder of its musical superiority, London's modernists were finally fighting back. They had a new enclave, the Flamingo Club, with membership in its thousands, and a new cause celebre in the Jazz Couriers. Add to that, exciting new bands led by Don Rendell, Ronnie Scott and Tubby Hayes were holding their own against the Yanks. It was clear that the first generation of the capital's Mods were on the way up...